My Ching Interpretation

Standard

33) RETREAT.

“Thus we do not simple abandon the field to the opponent; we make it difficult for him to advance by showing perseverance in single acts of resistance. In this way we prepare, while retreating, for the counter-movement.”

I now comprehend the meaning of this intepretation. Lately, I have been forced to reflect back a lot on certain issues, and realy dig deeper into the meaning of certain circumstances. But there are also opposing forces, not antogonistic in any sense, but things that I now realize I let “get to me” that I didn’t recognize before. I love how Daoist this is: retreat with strength and vitality, and you will persevere. It almost reminds me of Wei Wei, and how he simply stood back and took advantage of opposing forces to gain strength. He retreated from the Chinese government, but with a camera and Twitter feed, and coined the destruction of his house and office his “greatest piece of art.” Being the “Western” thinker that I am, I first cringed when I saw my prediction- but now I actually appreciate the idea of retreating even more. I am going to take my time with things, devote more awareness and attention to myself, and learn to avoid the opposite of Retreat- Flight (escaping from trouble)- and grow from “the power of dark” that’s “ascending.” I am also extremely impatient, and will let anger get the best of me sometimes. I really want to focus on this “retreat”, because I feel like the serenity and introspection of retreating will yield more strength than just irrationally retaliating to anything that I don’t like.

1) THE CREATIVE.

“When an individual draws this oracle, it means that success will come to him from the primal depths of the universe and that everything depends upon his seeking his happiness and that of others in one way only, that is, by perseverance in what is right.”

The “perseverance in what is right” reminds me a lot of justice. I love the idea of always trying to achieve ideal justice, because I feel like any other injustice only yields discontent in the end. When I first read the description that accompanied the Creative (the sublime, success) I actually thought of my own mother, not just because she is a “maternal” figure; something that is very characteristic of the Creative, but because my Mom has an inner core that was formulated for success. I have never seen anyone so diligent, persevering, yet gentle and kind at the same time. I’d like to think that I can develop or uncover the same “inner core” that she has, because I feel like this drive for success is engrained in her character. The “primal depths of the universe” are the most fundamental aspects of our universe that, perhaps, remain the most unchanged. I’d like to think I have a certain “core”

Criticism for this practice:

I would just like to point out that, while I adore Eastern philosophy and support the practice of being introspective/applying these tenets to your life, I still question the real value of the motion of throwing up coins in the air on someone’s future or meaningful answer to a deep question. Does organicism really have any scientific value or validity? What if I accidentally got some gum stuck on the side of a penny, which made it tip a little more in the air and fall as “heads” rather than “tails”? It’s hard for me to believe that a simple coin toss can prove whether I have any “primal depths” related to the universe, or if I should “retreat” rather than fly. The Chinese were smart, but I would seriously question their intelligence if they believed that 5 seconds of trivial motion determined the soul and spirituality of a person. I think it’s a waste of time for someone to invest their energy thinking that six lines bear some tremendous, unseen meaning in their life just because Abraham Lincoln appeared once more than the opposite side of a penny.

Leave a Reply

